Review: Girl One by Sara Flannery Murphy

Author: Sara Flannery Murphy
Publisher: MCD
Released: June 1, 2021
Received: NetGalley
Warnings: Abuse, kidnapping, fires, death, stalking

4 kitties

Girl One is perfect for those of you that want to see a little bit of science fiction in their thrillers. Or is it a little bit of thriller in their science fiction? Either way, that’s the simple truth.

Josephine Morrow is a woman who has made it into hundreds of biological textbooks. In those books, she is most commonly known as Girl One. She was the first of her sisters (of a sort) to be born without a father.

Literally, her DNA is entirely of her mother’s, with no father to help in her creation. There was a time when she and her family were happy about that fact. Now, years later, Josephine has begun to delve into the mystery surrounding her and the other eight girls – and what it will mean for them all.

“For a while I had lost myself in these calculations and the illusion of stability they offered.”

In many ways, Girl One was very much not the novel that I was expecting. To be clear, that isn’t a bad thing. I loved the blending of science fiction and thriller and sincerely wish there was more like it.

I think the reason for my surprise stems from my lack of knowledge surrounding two comparisons for this read. Girl One is marketed as ideal for fans of Margaret Atwood and Orphan Black. While I know that the show is wildly popular, I haven’t actually watched it yet. So I was surprised by how far down the rabbit hole this book ended up going.

I was pleasantly surprised, as it turned out. I really enjoyed Josephine’s story and all of the investigating she had to do in order to reveal the truth. That being said, readers who do not enjoy a slow burn might find some parts of this novel to be a bit dry or repetitive. As per usual, it all depends on your perspective and preferences.

It was easy for me to picture how Girl One could easily transform into a show (or audio serial, for that matter). Part of me is really wishing that will happen, while the rest of me doesn’t want my hopes to get too high – again.

Thanks to MCD and #NetGalley for making this book available for review. All opinions expressed are my own.

About Liz (AKA Cat)

I am an avid animal lover, photographer, reader, and much more. While my photography blog is feeling a bit neglected at the moment, the other sites I'm involved in are going strong. ✧I review books, comics, and basically anything else in the literary world over at Quirky Cat's Fat Stacks (of Books). ✧I review comics and books, as well as write content for Word of the Nerd. ✧I review comics for Monkeys Fighting Robots. ✧I write content for Screen Rant and CBR. ✧I write book reviews for The Review Crew.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Science Fiction, Thriller, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s