Tag Archives: Book Review

Review: Literary Places by Sarah Baxter and Amy Grimes

Literary Places is an absolutely striking collection of locations that are mentioned in literary works. They’re all real locations, of course. This novel includes beautiful hand drawn images of some of the most iconic locations, as well as a brief bit of information about each one. Continue reading

Advertisements
Posted in Art, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: The Wicked + The Divine Vol. 7: Mothering Invention

Publisher: Image Comics Released: October 9th 2018 Received: Own Issues: The Wicked + The Divine 34-39 Rating: I can’t believe that The Wicked + The Divine is already on its seventh volume. It feels like just a few months ago … Continue reading

Posted in Graphic Novels, Image Comics, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: Star Wars: Doctor Aphra Vol. 4: The Catastrophe Con

Publisher: Marvel Released: January 7th 2019 Received: Own Issues: Doctor Aphra 20-25 Rating: The Catastrophe Con continues the epic story of Doctor Aphra. The last volume introduced a love interest of sorts for Aphra, and I’d be lying if I … Continue reading

Posted in Comics, Graphic Novels, Marvel, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: Haphaven

Publisher: Lion Forge Released: March 19th 2019 Received: NetGalley Rating: I received a copy of Haphaven through NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review. Haphaven is a graphic novel full of superstitions and rules. It’s one part fairy … Continue reading

Posted in Comics, Graphic Novels, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: The Witch’s Kind by Louisa Morgan

The Witch’s Kind is the latest novel by Louisa Morgan. It’s a light paranormal novel, with lots of lush details and a casual buildup. It’s very relaxing of a read, while still having plenty of interesting things going on in the world around the main characters. It’s described as being perfect for fans of Practical Magic, and having read the book, I couldn’t agree more. Continue reading

Posted in Fantasy, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: The Prisoner by Sara Allyn

Author: Sara Allyn Released: August 29th 2018 Received: Review Request Warnings: Kidnapping, Control concerns, Miscarriages Rating: I received a copy of The Prisoner from Sara Allyn in exchange for a fair and honest review. The Prisoner is a novel that … Continue reading

Posted in Fantasy, Science Fiction, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: Lumberjanes Original Graphic Novel: The Infernal Compass

Publisher: Boom! Box Release: October 23rd 2018 Received: Own Rating: The Infernal Compass is set in the same world of the Lumberjanes, but separate from the ongoing plot of the series itself. It was created by Lilah Sturges (Everafter, Thor: … Continue reading

Posted in Boom! Studios, Comics, Graphic Novels, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: Infinity Countdown

Publisher: Marvel Released: September 25th 2018 Received: Read as single issues Issues: Infinity Countdown Prime, Infinity Countdown 1-5, Infinity Countdown: Adam Warlock Rating: With the Infinity Wars looming ever closer (okay, they were already on the third issue of it … Continue reading

Posted in Comics, Graphic Novels, Marvel, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: Future’s Beginning (Surviving the Evacuation #13) by Frank Tayell

Author: Frank Tayell Released: May 17th 2018 Received: Own Rating: It’s almost hard to believe that Surviving the Evacuation has already hit thirteen books (well, fourteen, actually, I’m one behind as of writing this review). Not to mention the spin-off … Continue reading

Posted in Science Fiction, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: Watersnakes by Tony Sandoval

Publisher: Lion Forge Author: Tony Sandoval Released: November 20th 2018 Received: NetGalley Warning: Teeth falling out Rating: I received a copy of Watersnakes through NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review. Watersnakes has to be one of the … Continue reading

Posted in Fantasy, Graphic Novels, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment