Category Archives: Dystopian

Review: Burntcoat by Sarah Hall

Burntcoat wins the award for one of the most graphic novels I’ve read in 2022. And I don’t necessarily mean graphic in the gory sense. It’s a bit hard to describe – but anyone who has read Sarah Hall’s latest novel probably knows exactly what I’m talking about. Continue reading

Posted in ARC, Dystopian, Fiction | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: And Then I Woke Up by Malcolm Devlin

And Then I Woke Up is the latest novel by Malcolm Devlin, though if I’m being honest, it is also the first novel I’ve read by this author. However, when I saw the pitch for this book, I knew I had to read it. Anytime you promise me a book that reads like a Mira Grant or Stephen Graham Jones novel, I’m there. Continue reading

Posted in Dystopian, Fiction, Horror, Science Fiction, Tor | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Review: Trashlands: A Novel by Alison Stone

Alison Stone’s latest novel, Trashlands, is one part science fiction and one part dystopian tale. It is heavy and carries with it a critical lesson for us all if we’re willing to hear it. Continue reading

Posted in Dystopian | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Blog Tour & Review: Population Zero by Fran Lewis

Population Zero, written by Fran Lewis, is a world that feels uncomfortably familiar. That is because it is our own – set in a future of Lewis’ imagining, where humans meet their (possibly likely) ending. Continue reading

Posted in Blog Tour, Dystopian, Fiction, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Review: Dustborn by Erin Bowman

Dustborn is the perfect novel for fans of Mad Max and Gunslinger Girl – and that was more than enough to catch my attention and get me reading. Continue reading

Posted in Dystopian, Fantasy, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: The Electric Kingdom by David Arnold

David Arnold is back with another mind bend of a read in The Electric Kingdom. It’s a novel that merges speculative fiction with dystopian writing, and will leave you thinking for days to come. Continue reading

Posted in Dystopian, Fiction, Science Fiction, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Blog Tour & Review: The Rage Room by Lisa de Nikolits

Lisa de Nikolits’ newest novel, The Rage Room, is an impassioned feminist and dystopian fiction, one that is alarming familiar in tone to that of 1984. Continue reading

Posted in Dystopian, Fiction, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Review: Bullet Catcher: The Complete Season 1

Bullet Catcher is a unique series, a blend of coming of age, fantasy western, and family drama. It’s perfect for fans of The Gunslinger (Dark Tower) and True Grit, but it comes with a few twists of it’s own. The first two seasons are currently available on Serial Box, with the third on the way. My review is only for the first season of the series (though I do plan on diving into the second season asap). Continue reading

Posted in Dystopian, Fantasy, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: Shatter City by Scott Westerfeld

Shatter City is the second novel in Scott Westerfeld’s latest series, The Imposters. Set after the events during The Uglies, this is a series sure to draw in all of his old fans once again. Continue reading

Posted in Dystopian, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: Last Ones Left Alive by Sarah Davis-Goff

Last Ones Left Alive is Sarah Davis-Goff’s debut novel, and it’s an intense read from cover to cover. It’s a dystopian novel, set in a world where a disease has run through and taken out most of humanity. Continue reading

Posted in Dystopian, Fiction, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment