Category Archives: Fantasy

Review: Perfunctory Affection by Kim Harrison

Perfunctory Affection is the newest novella from Kim Harrison. It explores the concepts of love, perfection, life, truth, and understanding. It’s a heavy but fascinating read, delving deep into anxiety, depression, and delusions. Continue reading

Advertisements
Posted in Fantasy, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: The Witch’s Kind by Louisa Morgan

The Witch’s Kind is the latest novel by Louisa Morgan. It’s a light paranormal novel, with lots of lush details and a casual buildup. It’s very relaxing of a read, while still having plenty of interesting things going on in the world around the main characters. It’s described as being perfect for fans of Practical Magic, and having read the book, I couldn’t agree more. Continue reading

Posted in Fantasy, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: Never-Contented Things by Sarah Porter

If I was giving out awards for beautiful book covers, you can bet that Never-Contented Things would be getting one. The cover is absolutely striking, and immediately gave me an impression of the sort of story that it would have. Continue reading

Posted in Fantasy, Tor, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: The Prisoner by Sara Allyn

Author: Sara Allyn Released: August 29th 2018 Received: Review Request Warnings: Kidnapping, Control concerns, Miscarriages Rating: I received a copy of The Prisoner from Sara Allyn in exchange for a fair and honest review. The Prisoner is a novel that … Continue reading

Posted in Fantasy, Science Fiction, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: Watersnakes by Tony Sandoval

Publisher: Lion Forge Author: Tony Sandoval Released: November 20th 2018 Received: NetGalley Warning: Teeth falling out Rating: I received a copy of Watersnakes through NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review. Watersnakes has to be one of the … Continue reading

Posted in Fantasy, Graphic Novels, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: Wild Country by Anne Bishop

Wild Country is the latest novel by Anne Bishop. It’s also the latest in her Others series, though the numbering may be confusing. Its #7 in the Others series, and #2 in the World of the Others series. Two books ago, Anne Bishop finished the main plot for the Others, and thus the last two books have been focused on others stories within the same world. That’s the reason for the odd numbering system here. Continue reading

Posted in Fantasy, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: The Perfect Assassin (The Chronicles of Ghadid #1) by K.A. Doore

The Perfect Assassin is the first book I’ve read by K.A. Doore, and I’m absolutely blown away. While the bright color caught my attention when browsing, it was the description and publisher (gotta love Tor) that really sold me here. And I couldn’t have been happier with my decision. If you’re looking for a new fantasy author to follow from the start, then you should look into this novel. Continue reading

Posted in Fantasy, Tor, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review and Blog Tour: The Dysasters by P.C. Cast and Kristin Cast

The Dysasters wasn’t the novel I was expecting, but I still found it to be a fascinating read. It was the cover that originally caught my attention for the series and my fondness for P.C. Cast’s works that convinced me that it would be worth reading. Continue reading

Posted in Fantasy, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Circle of the Moon Blog Tour

Nell can draw magic from the land around her, and lately she’s been using it to help the Psi-Law Enforcement division, which solves paranormal crimes. Joining the team at PsyLED has allowed her to learn more about her powers and the world she always shunned—and to find true friends. Continue reading

Posted in Blog Tour, Fantasy, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Review: Binti (Binti #1) by Nnedi Okorafor

Publisher: Tor Publishing Author: Nnedi Okorafor Released: September 22nd 2015 Received: Own Rating: Binti is the first novella in the Binti series (makes sense) and I’ve heard nothing but praise about the series for about a year now. So naturally … Continue reading

Posted in Fantasy, Science Fiction, Tor, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment