Promotion Alert – Grim Reaping Reads

Grim Reaping Reads

Do you like darker reads?

Head to the GRIM REAPING READS ONLINE BOOK FAIR

— *FREE* or *DISCOUNTED* books —

Happening NOW until October 31!

https://dfischerauthor.com/the-blog/

#dark #darkbooks #freebooks #discountedbooks #fantasybooks #horrorbooks #halloween #reading #reader #blog #bloggers #bookblog #paranormal #paranormalromance #grimreapingreads #bookfair #onlinefair #giveaways #free #freeebooks #fantasy #PNRbooks #authors #writing #read

Advertisements
Posted in Promotions, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: The White Darkness by David Grann

The White Darkness

Author: David Grann
Release: October 30th 2018
Received: BOTM Review Copy
Rating: 4 Kitties

I received an advanced copy of The White Darkness in exchange for a fair and honest review.

The White Darkness is the true story of Henry Worsley and his impressive and monumental treks through Antarctica. I hadn’t followed his journey live at the time, and part of me regrets that now. Still, David Grann did a wonderful job collecting anecdotes, images, and tales of Worsley’s numerous adventures, and I am very grateful for that.

When I first started reading this I had trouble wrapping my head around how recent the events actually were. I know that may sound weird, but for some reason I kept thinking it had to be an older story than that. Perhaps because the origin of these adventures started over a century ago?

Henry Worsley was a wonderful and determined man, one who was hopefully of following in Ernest Shackleton’s footsteps. No, that’s not quite it. He was hoping to surpass him. He had high goals in life, and he never once let that intimidate him. This novel lays out everything perfect, from his inspiration, to his obsession, to the planning and beyond. It was all beautifully done.

The images selected to go along with this novel were absolutely beautiful. Some of them were photos of Worsley or his team, while others were of the scenery around. All of them took my breath away.

I’m not going to lie to you; by the end of this book I was crying my eyes out. So I think you should prepare for that potential as well. David Grann will force you to acknowledge the man that Henry Worsley was, and thus the loss will be so much more painful. I think Grann did a wonderful job of reminding us of the human behind these adventures, and I’m very thankful for that.

 

 

Posted in Biography, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: The Transfigured Hart by Jane Yolen

The Transfigured Hart

Publisher: Tachyon Publishing
Author: Jane Yolen
Received: NetGalley
Rating: 3.5 Stars

I received a copy of The Transfigured Hart through NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review.

The Transfigured Hart is a short story by Jane Yolen. Like many of her other tales, it’s based on common folklore and is beautifully written. I’m honestly a little surprised I’ve never read this one before, but I’m glad I took the time to do so now.

When I was growing up my favorite story was the Last Unicorn (yeah, I know, I still cry every time I see/read it). This tale did a wonderful job of reminding me of both it and my childhood, and for that I’m very grateful.

I do think that at times the story lulled on, and I would have liked a bit more character development as well. Or maybe it was just the dialogue that sometimes got to me – that actually sounds more accurate. Otherwise this really was a lovely story.

 

Posted in Fantasy, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Quote of the Week

Quote of the Week

Image | Posted on by | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: The Music Box Volume1: Welcome to Pandorient

The Music Box Volume 1

Publisher: Europe Comics
Released: June 20th 2018
Received: NetGalley
Rating: 4 Kitties

I received a copy of The Music Box through NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review.

The Music Box is a fun, sweet, and beautiful story of a girl finding her way through a tough times thanks to a fantasy world. I honestly can’t get over how beautiful all of the artwork is for this series – if you ever get the chance to read it/look through the images, please do take the time to do so! It’s absolutely worth it.

This is a fast paced read, with lots of endearing moments as well as heartbreaking ones. You’ll find the main character racing from one end of the newly discovered world to the other, in what can only be described as true childhood fashion.

What I loved most was the lesson it taught us – that friendships can in fact help you deal with grief, you just have to give them a chance. Yes, it won’t change what happened, and it has other limits as well, but isn’t a bandaged heart better than a broken one?

Seeing what kids can do, even in the worst of times, is always both impressive and heartwarming. Here we have three children fighting to save somebody they love, while also doing what is right. The fact that they also chose to ignore an unjust law being broken just made it all the sweeter – having a strong moral compass is something most of us can only hope to achieve.

I ended up reading all of The Music Box Vol. 1 in a single sitting, and I have no regrets about it, except perhaps that I have no more of it to read. I’m looking forward to seeing if more of it will come out, and what sort of adventures it’ll carry with it.

 

Posted in Comics, Graphic Novels, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: The Mighty Thor Vol. 5: The Death of the Mighty Thor

Might Thor Vol 5

Publisher: Marvel
Released: June 26th 2018
Received: Own
Issues: Mighty Thor 700-706, The Mighty Thor: At the Gates of Valhalla #1
Rating: 5 Stars

Man, I knew this day was coming, yet I’m still not ready for it. This is the final volume in the Mighty Thor run, and the name leaves very little for the imagination, doesn’t it? I’ve been both looking forward to and dreading this volume for months. But in truth I knew it was going to have to end the moment that I heard that the Marvel Universe was doing a soft reboot. It was bound to happen – they were ready to go back to Thor, and by that I mean Odinson Thor.

The good news is that Jason Aaron has stayed on to write the new Thor series as well, so I know it’ll be good. I also know that it means that the plots started in this series, with Malekith and the wars, will not be suddenly dropped. We’ll likely get a conclusion to everything that’s been begun, even if it doesn’t happen right away.

Spoiler Warning

Continue reading

Posted in Comics, Graphic Novels, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: Batman and the Justice League Vol. 1

Batman and the Justice League Vol 1

Publisher: DC Comics
Release: October 23rd 2018
Received: Netalley
Rating: 3 Stars

I received a copy of Batman and the Justice League Vol. 1 through NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review.

Have you ever wanted to see what it’d be like to blend our modern comics with manga? Well, wonder no longer. Batman and the Justice League is a blend between our favorite superhero team and well, manga. It isn’t a perfect blend between the two, with a heavier leaning into the manga world than the comic one, but it’s still pretty interesting to see.

I have to admit that while the whole comic/manga combination idea had never actually occurred to me before, it actually has a lot of potential. It could open the series up to new plots, characters, tropes, cities, and so much more.

Spoiler Warning

Continue reading

Posted in Comics, Graphic Novels, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: The Ruin (Cormac Reilly #1) by Dervia McTiernan

The Ruin

Publisher: Penguin
Author: Devia McTiernan
Release: July 3rd 2018
Received: Goodreads Giveaways
Warnings: Suicide, rape
Rating: 3.5 Stars

The Ruin is the first in a new series, Cormac Reilly, by Dervia McTiernan. It was described as being perfect for fans of Tana French, and after having read this novel I can honestly say that this is an accurate statement. There were actually a couple of times where I stopped and double checked the author’s name, for I sincerely thought I was read a Tana French novel (specifically Into the Woods – the tone was very similar between the two novels).

I just want to say real quickly that I absolutely adore the cover to this novel. It’s beautiful and eerie at the same time, which is likely exactly what they were going for. I don’t know why, but I love thriller novel that use natural elements on their covers.

Spoiler Warning

Continue reading

Posted in Thriller, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Quote of the Week

Emily Bronte - Wuthering Heights

Image | Posted on by | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: InstaStyle by Alpha

InstaStyle

Publisher: Alpha
Author: Alpha
Release: Oct. 23rd 2018
Received: NetGalley
Rating: 4 Kitties

I received a copy of InstaStyle through NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review.

InstaStyle is both an art book and a guide book to getting a brand or identity going on Instagram. It covers many different potential focuses for Instagram accounts, like lifestyle, fashion, travel, food, beauty, family, health/fitness, interior design, and products. So it’s likely that no matter what type of account you’re looking to start, you’ll get a good idea of where to go from here.

Personally, I run a Bookstagram account, so I was reading this book for tips on that. That meant mostly that the product ones applied the most to me, as well as the generalized tips, posing and hashtag advice, and so on. Still, I found it incredibly helpful. They suggested some tricks that I sincerely wouldn’t have thought to try on my own, like trying to find the best time to post, and how it’d vary day to day.

I also loved the suggestion of varying up the subject, giving subcategories a chance. It makes sense not only for followers, but to prevent burnout for the creators. Little tricks like that can really go a long way when it comes to maintaining social media presence long term.

Along with a bunch of helpful tips, tricks, and guides, this book also includes examples from real Instagram accounts. There’s one included for each of the listed genres above, and they’re all real people (and of course their information in included should you choose to follow them). I thought this was a nice touch.

 

Posted in Art, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment