Review: A River of Royal Blood by Amanda Joy

A River of Royal BloodAuthor: Amanda Joy
Series: A River of Royal Blood
Publisher: Putnam
Released: October 29th, 2019
Received: BookishFirst
Warnings: Blood magic, animal death
Rating: 4 kitties

I received a copy of A River of Royal Blood through NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review.

A River of Royal Blood is the astounding debut novel of Amanda Joy. This is a novel perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone and is as chilling as it is entertaining. Set in magical world, the country is ruled by a magickal queen.

Myre is a country of magick, violence, and multiple species. This is the world that Eva was born into – and the world she might someday rule. That is, if she can beat her sister in a battle to become queen. But doing so would require Eva to embrace her magick – the magick of blood and bone.

Eva’s world is forever changed weeks before her seventeenth birthday when an assassin makes an attempt on her life. That was the night when she realized she had more magick than she had dared to believe. And she doesn’t know how she feels about that.

“The smell of salty blood, orange blossoms, and incense filled the air – the scent of the singer’s magick. It pulsed through the air, pushing every movement farther.”

Spoiler Warning

Warnings: A River of Royal Blood contains some elements that should be fairly obvious, thanks to the description of this book. Eva’s magick is of blood and bone – meaning her magick directly affects the body. Additionally, there is some animal death within this book, but I promise that you can see it coming.

 

A River of Royal Blood is a dark and deliciously written novel, full of emotional and intense moments. I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough with this book, that’s how anxious I was to see what would happen next.

Amanda Joy had a brilliant way of writing, introducing us to Eva and the world she was born into. This novel felt like it was heavily character-driven, as everything was pushed forward by what Eva was struggling with or feeling at any given time.

One clever thing Joy did in this novel was how she introduced the lore of the world. It was slowly revealed, bit by bit. But it was done so in sneaky and clever ways. So it never once felt like we were getting an info dump of lore. And I loved that.

The worldbuilding in this story was excellent, but it also left me desperate to see more. I know that there are many other cities and species in this country because they were all mentioned. But part of me really wanted to get a chance to see them. I truly hope we’ll get a chance in the next few novels.

My only surprise in this novel was the role in which Isa played. Based on the description, I thought she would have a slightly larger role in this book. But I’m not complaining, as I’m okay with not getting overly attached to her character (when you read the book, you’ll understand why I feel that way).

I have so many questions about this world, the characters, and of course, the plot that has been introduced. So, naturally, I’m now quite anxious to get my hands on the next novel in the series (which doesn’t yet have a name). Oh well, I’ll have to be nice and patient in the meantime.

About Liz (AKA Cat)

I am an avid animal lover, photographer, graphic designer, and much more. I love to create art, and am willing to try any artistic technique at least once. I am particularly fond of artworks involving a lot of emotion and color. The purpose of my blog is for me to be open and honest with myself and the world about my attempts to grow as an artist. My other major passion is reading. My TBR pile is larger than I'll ever be able to read, and yet I can't resist adding to it on a nearly daily basis. I love to read science fiction & fantasy, graphic novels, and pretty much anything I can get my hands on. I have a couple of blogs, as you can see. One is primarily my photography, while the other are my book reviews. If you have any questions, feel free to reach out!
This entry was posted in ARC, Fantasy, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s