Tag Archives: BookishFirst

Review: The Kingdom of Back by Marie Lu

The Kingdom of Back is the latest novel by Marie Lu, and it is a stunning blend of fantasy and music. This is the tale of Nannerl Mozart, her brother, Wolfgang Mozart, and the magical world they once shared. Continue reading

Posted in ARC, Fantasy, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: The Vanishing Deep by Astrid Scholte

The Vanishing Deep is Astrid Scholte’s second novel, and it is another standalone novel. Though it will surprise fans, for it is quite different from Four Dead Queens. This is a tale of the dead, and how family can get their loved ones back – but only for 24 hours. Continue reading

Posted in ARC, Science Fiction, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: The Queen’s Assassin by Melissa de la Cruz

The Queen’s Assassin is the first novel in a brand new series from the one and only Melissa de la Cruz. This time around, her latest novel is being compared to Red Queen, and that’s what really caught my attention. Continue reading

Posted in ARC, Fantasy, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: You’re Not Listening by Kate Murphy

Have you ever felt like there’s a disconnect, when you’re sitting down and having a conversation with somebody? Almost like the other person isn’t listening to you – just waiting for you to finish talking so they can have their moment to talk? Continue reading

Posted in ARC, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: A River of Royal Blood by Amanda Joy

A River of Royal Blood is the astounding debut novel of Amanda Joy. This is a novel perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone and is as chilling as it is entertaining. Set in magical world, the country is ruled by a magickal queen. Continue reading

Posted in ARC, Fantasy, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: War Girls by Tochi Onyebuchi

War Girls is the latest novel by Tochi Onyebuchi, and is the first novel in a new series (of the same name). It’s the tale of two sisters thrown together by the means of war, and their different journies on the path to survival. Continue reading

Posted in ARC, Science Fiction, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: The Future of Another Timeline by Annalee Newitz

The Future of Another Timeline is the newest novel from the mind of Annalee Newitz. It is, without a shadow of a doubt, the most feminist piece of fiction I’ve read this year. It mashes time travel, punk music, women’s rights, and so much more into one compact novel. Continue reading

Posted in ARC, Science Fiction, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: The Dirty Dozen (Tennison #5) by Lynda La Plante

The Dirty Dozen is the latest adventure about our lovely Jane Tennison. It’s the fifth novel in a series written by Lynda La Plante, however, like other novels in the series, you can really pick up at any point and follow along as you please. Continue reading

Posted in ARC, Thriller, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: Nottingham by Nathan Makaryk

Nottingham is the story I’ve always wanted from Robin Hood. It has all of the elements I know and love – but there’s so much more to it. I honestly can’t emphasize that fact enough. Makaryk added all of the missing elements, as far as I’m concerned. Continue reading

Posted in ARC, Fantasy, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , | 6 Comments

Review: This is How You Lose the Time War by Amal El-Mohtar & Max Gladstone

This is How You Lose the Time War wins my award for best novella for 2019. Seriously, this novella was absolutely amazing. Beautifully written, whimsical, witty, everything. I had high hopes for this one, but they sincerely exceeded them. Continue reading

Posted in ARC, Science Fiction, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment