Tag Archives: BookishFirst

Review: The Electric Kingdom by David Arnold

David Arnold is back with another mind bend of a read in The Electric Kingdom. It’s a novel that merges speculative fiction with dystopian writing, and will leave you thinking for days to come. Continue reading

Posted in Dystopian, Fiction, Science Fiction, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: Waiting for the Night Song by Julie Carrick Dalton

Julie Carrick Dalton’s debut novel, Waiting for the Night Song, is a shockingly powerful and intense read, one that will pull you in right from the first page. Continue reading

Posted in Mystery, Thriller, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: The Princess Knight by G.A. Aiken

The Princess Knight is the second novel in The Scarred Earth Saga by G.A. Aiken, a chaotic and brilliant adventure like no other I’ve seen. Continue reading

Posted in ARC, Fantasy, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: Skyhunter by Marie Lu

Once again Marie Lu is creating a new fantasy world worth diving into, Skyhunter. The first title of the series also happens to have the same name, and it comes alongside one of the most striking covers I’ve seen to date. Continue reading

Posted in ARC, Fantasy, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: To Sleep in a Sea of Stars by Christopher Paolini

Can you believe it? Christopher Paolini is back, only this time he isn’t diving back into the world of fantasy! Instead, he’s taking a swing at science fiction. From the moment this book was announced, I knew that it was going to be one epic adventure. Continue reading

Posted in ARC, Science Fiction, Tor, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: The Gillespie County Fair by Marc Hess

The Gillespie County Fair is the latest novel by Marc Hess, and it’s a totally unique read. Set in Texas, and revolving around the oldest fair, this novel is rich with culture and character development. Continue reading

Posted in Fiction, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: The Nemesis Manifesto by Eric Van Lustbader

Picture Black Widow meets Jason Bourne, and you’ll have found The Nemesis Manifesto. Crated by Eric Van Lustbader, this is the start of a whole new series revolving around a highly competent spy and agent. Continue reading

Posted in ARC, Thriller, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: The Sin in the Steel by Ryan Van Loan

The Sin in the Steel is the first novel in The Fall of the Gods series by Ryan Van Loan. It’s a series that mixes many elements together in order to create something fun and exciting. Pirates, magic, dead gods can all be found. Oh and a Sherlockian twist as well. Continue reading

Posted in ARC, Fantasy, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae

The Kinder Poison is the debut novel of Natalie Mae, and it is has been marketed as perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Holly Black. Being a fan of theirs, and having read this book; I can tell you that this is completely fair. Continue reading

Posted in ARC, Fantasy, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: The Only Good Indians by Stephen Graham Jones

The Only Good Indians is the latest horror novel to come out of the mind of Stephen Graham Jones, and it is a truly chilling (and graphic) tale worth reading. If you’re looking for a novel that terrifies as it unfolds, then you’re going to want to check this one out. Continue reading

Posted in ARC, Fantasy, Horror, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments