Tag Archives: BookishFirst

Review: A River of Royal Blood by Amanda Joy

A River of Royal Blood is the astounding debut novel of Amanda Joy. This is a novel perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone and is as chilling as it is entertaining. Set in magical world, the country is ruled by a magickal queen. Continue reading

Posted in ARC, Fantasy, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: War Girls by Tochi Onyebuchi

War Girls is the latest novel by Tochi Onyebuchi, and is the first novel in a new series (of the same name). It’s the tale of two sisters thrown together by the means of war, and their different journies on the path to survival. Continue reading

Posted in ARC, Science Fiction, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: The Future of Another Timeline by Annalee Newitz

The Future of Another Timeline is the newest novel from the mind of Annalee Newitz. It is, without a shadow of a doubt, the most feminist piece of fiction I’ve read this year. It mashes time travel, punk music, women’s rights, and so much more into one compact novel. Continue reading

Posted in ARC, Science Fiction, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: The Dirty Dozen (Tennison #5) by Lynda La Plante

The Dirty Dozen is the latest adventure about our lovely Jane Tennison. It’s the fifth novel in a series written by Lynda La Plante, however, like other novels in the series, you can really pick up at any point and follow along as you please. Continue reading

Posted in ARC, Thriller, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: Nottingham by Nathan Makaryk

Nottingham is the story I’ve always wanted from Robin Hood. It has all of the elements I know and love – but there’s so much more to it. I honestly can’t emphasize that fact enough. Makaryk added all of the missing elements, as far as I’m concerned. Continue reading

Posted in ARC, Fantasy, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , | 6 Comments

Review: This is How You Lose the Time War by Amal El-Mohtar & Max Gladstone

This is How You Lose the Time War wins my award for best novella for 2019. Seriously, this novella was absolutely amazing. Beautifully written, whimsical, witty, everything. I had high hopes for this one, but they sincerely exceeded them. Continue reading

Posted in ARC, Science Fiction, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: Kingdom of Exiles (The Beast Charmer #1) by Maxym M. Martineau

Kingdom of Exiles is the first novel in a new series called the Beast Charmer by Maxym M. Martineau. I’m not going to lie to you – it was originally the cover art that caught my attention. That being said, this novel exceeded all of my expectations, and so much more. It’s described as Fantastic Beasts meets Assassin’s Creed, and it delivers on that promise. Continue reading

Posted in ARC, Fantasy, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment