Tag Archives: Fantasy review

Review: The Starless Sea by Erin Morgenstern

The Starless Sea is Erin Morgenstern’s highly anticipated latest novel, and it is one that is going to blow you away. Fans of The Night Circus are not going to want to miss out on this one, as Morgenstern has proved that her latest novel was well worth the long wait. Continue reading

Posted in Fantasy, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: The Monstrous Citadel by Mirah Bolender

The Monstrous Citadel is the second novel in the Chronicles of Amicae series by Mirah Bolender. And I honestly can’t think of a series that has captivated me more through its fascinating world and set of characters. Continue reading

Posted in ARC, Fantasy, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: Dusk or Dawn or Dawn or Day by Seanan McGuire

Dusk or Dawn or Dawn or Day is a novella by Seanan McGuire, and if you’ve read any of her previous works, you’ll have a decent idea of what you’re in for. A lot of themes that have fascinated Seanan McGuire for years make an appearance here; ghosts, debts, love and loss. So much is woven into this single tale. Continue reading

Posted in Fantasy, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: Sisters of Shadow and Light by Sara B. Larson

Sisters of Shadow and Light is the first novel in an all-new series by Sara B. Larson. It’s the tale of two sisters, and their very strange and unexpected lives. They’ve been abandoned, and worse, trapped within a citadel. That is, until everything takes a sudden change fifteen years in. Continue reading

Posted in ARC, Fantasy, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: A River of Royal Blood by Amanda Joy

A River of Royal Blood is the astounding debut novel of Amanda Joy. This is a novel perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone and is as chilling as it is entertaining. Set in magical world, the country is ruled by a magickal queen. Continue reading

Posted in ARC, Fantasy, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: Laughter at the Academy by Seanan McGuire

Laughter at the Academy is Seanan McGuire’s first true collection of short stories, by her own words. If you’ve read any of Seanan McGuire’s works, then you probably already have a good idea of what will be in store for you here. So I don’t need to explain all of the reasons you should be reading this. If you haven’t read Seanan McGuire, this is an excellent sampling of her works, and thus worth checking out. Continue reading

Posted in ARC, Fantasy, Science Fiction, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: These Wicked Waters by Emily Layne

These Wicked Waters is the debut novel of Emily Layne, and it takes a unique look at the classic tale of mermaids and sirens. Viaii Nisi, is an isolated island surrounded by mermaids – and a curse. It turns out that when you anger the beauties of the sea, they’ll never forgive. Continue reading

Posted in ARC, Fantasy, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Review: Once Broken Faith (October Daye #10) by Seanan McGuire

Once Broken Faith is the tenth novel in the October Daye series by Seanan McGuire, and our chaotic knight is still going strong. And thank goodness for that! Though she still seems to have her talent for getting herself into trouble… Continue reading

Posted in Fantasy, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: Ninth House (Alex Stern #1) by Leigh Bardugo

Ninth House is the first novel in an all-new series by Leigh Bardugo. And it’s been getting a lot of attention – both because people have been loving it, and because it’s Bardugo’s first excursion out of the realm of young adult novels. Continue reading

Posted in Fantasy, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 7 Comments

Review: A Red-Rose Chain (October Daye #9) by Seanan McGuire

This novel brings the Kingdom of Silences into focus. They’re the neighboring Kingdom, and have never looked kindly on changelings or humans. Nor do they seem pleased about the change in rulership, if their declaration of war is anything to go by. Continue reading

Posted in DAW Books, Fantasy, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment