Tag Archives: Review

Review: Literary Places by Sarah Baxter and Amy Grimes

Literary Places is an absolutely striking collection of locations that are mentioned in literary works. They’re all real locations, of course. This novel includes beautiful hand drawn images of some of the most iconic locations, as well as a brief bit of information about each one. Continue reading

Advertisements
Posted in Art, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: The Wicked + The Divine Vol. 7: Mothering Invention

Publisher: Image Comics Released: October 9th 2018 Received: Own Issues: The Wicked + The Divine 34-39 Rating: I can’t believe that The Wicked + The Divine is already on its seventh volume. It feels like just a few months ago … Continue reading

Posted in Graphic Novels, Image Comics, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: Star Wars: Doctor Aphra Vol. 4: The Catastrophe Con

Publisher: Marvel Released: January 7th 2019 Received: Own Issues: Doctor Aphra 20-25 Rating: The Catastrophe Con continues the epic story of Doctor Aphra. The last volume introduced a love interest of sorts for Aphra, and I’d be lying if I … Continue reading

Posted in Comics, Graphic Novels, Marvel, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: Haphaven

Publisher: Lion Forge Released: March 19th 2019 Received: NetGalley Rating: I received a copy of Haphaven through NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review. Haphaven is a graphic novel full of superstitions and rules. It’s one part fairy … Continue reading

Posted in Comics, Graphic Novels, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: Perfunctory Affection by Kim Harrison

Perfunctory Affection is the newest novella from Kim Harrison. It explores the concepts of love, perfection, life, truth, and understanding. It’s a heavy but fascinating read, delving deep into anxiety, depression, and delusions. Continue reading

Posted in Fantasy, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: The Witch’s Kind by Louisa Morgan

The Witch’s Kind is the latest novel by Louisa Morgan. It’s a light paranormal novel, with lots of lush details and a casual buildup. It’s very relaxing of a read, while still having plenty of interesting things going on in the world around the main characters. It’s described as being perfect for fans of Practical Magic, and having read the book, I couldn’t agree more. Continue reading

Posted in Fantasy, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: Never-Contented Things by Sarah Porter

If I was giving out awards for beautiful book covers, you can bet that Never-Contented Things would be getting one. The cover is absolutely striking, and immediately gave me an impression of the sort of story that it would have. Continue reading

Posted in Fantasy, Tor, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: The Prisoner by Sara Allyn

Author: Sara Allyn Released: August 29th 2018 Received: Review Request Warnings: Kidnapping, Control concerns, Miscarriages Rating: I received a copy of The Prisoner from Sara Allyn in exchange for a fair and honest review. The Prisoner is a novel that … Continue reading

Posted in Fantasy, Science Fiction, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: Infinity Countdown

Publisher: Marvel Released: September 25th 2018 Received: Read as single issues Issues: Infinity Countdown Prime, Infinity Countdown 1-5, Infinity Countdown: Adam Warlock Rating: With the Infinity Wars looming ever closer (okay, they were already on the third issue of it … Continue reading

Posted in Comics, Graphic Novels, Marvel, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: The Tesla Legacy by K.K. Perez

The Tesla Legacy is the debut novel of K.K. Perez. The title will probably give you a bit of an idea of what is in store, which is something I love about it. The novel follows young Lucy Phelps as the unbelievable happens to her. Lucy finds herself in a mystery of epic proportions, and she’s at the center of it all. Continue reading

Posted in ARC, Science Fiction, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment