Review: Dustborn by Erin Bowman

Author: Erin Bowman
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Released: April 20th, 2021
Received: NetGalley

4 kitties

Dustborn is the perfect novel for fans of Mad Max and Gunslinger Girl – and that was more than enough to catch my attention and get me reading.

Delta was born and raised in Dead River. It’s all she has ever known. Well, that and one other thing. Her whole life, she has been told that she needs to hide her back. You see, there’s a map branded onto her back. Yes, really.

Supposedly that map leads to a paradise, or at least, that is the dream that Delta holds onto. In reality, it is a place known as Verdant, and the time is coming for Delta to head that way. However, her journey will be tough, and she’ll have to be cautious about who she trusts. Always cautious. Always on the lookout.

“Rotten place. Rotten weather. Rotten land.

We need to move.

We can’t move.

Like always, there’s no good answer.”

Dustborn is a fun and epic read. It features a badass heroine, a dramatic world, and countless threats. What isn’t there to love about this thrilling tale? If you’re looking for an imaginative book to pick up, try this one.

What blew me away (no pun intended) more than anything is the world-building. Erin Bowman really knows how to create a compel ling world. Then again, I think my imagination might have brought a little bit into this mix. Everything about this book, from the cover to the narrative, gives off a dystopian/Mad Max-esque vibe. I know my expectations probably colored the story at least a little bit, but honestly? I’m okay with that.

While I’m talking about honestly, I should mention that it did take me a little bit of time to get into Delta’s story. Don’t get me wrong, I was enjoying it, but I think it wasn’t until about halfway through that I found myself invested in what was going to happen next. So if you’re struggling, try hitting that point before you put it down.

Actually, now that I stop and think about it…I think that Dustborn really reminded me of Wool in many ways. No wonder I found myself enjoying it so much. There are a lot of different elements between the two, but they still hit on similar notes. So if you read Wool, give this one a go (and if you haven’t read Wool, you should!).

Thanks to HMH Books for Young Readers and #NetGalley for making this book available for review. All opinions expressed are my own.

About Liz (AKA Cat)

I am an avid animal lover, photographer, reader, and much more. While my photography blog is feeling a bit neglected at the moment, the other sites I'm involved in are going strong. ✧I review books, comics, and basically anything else in the literary world over at Quirky Cat's Fat Stacks (of Books). ✧I review comics and books, as well as write content for Word of the Nerd. ✧I review comics for Monkeys Fighting Robots. ✧I write content for Screen Rant and CBR. ✧I write book reviews for The Review Crew.
This entry was posted in Dystopian, Fantasy, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s