Review: Magic for Nothing by Seanan McGuire

Author: Seanan McGuire
Series: InCryptid #6
Publisher: DAW
Released: March 7th, 2017
Received: Own

Magic for Nothing is the sixth novel in Seanan McGuire’s InCryptid series, an amazing series that I wish I had picked up so much sooner! This time around, we’re switching to another member of the Price family: Antimony, aka Annie, Price.

Annie is the youngest of three in one of the quirkiest families around. While she frequently feels overshadowed by her elder siblings, Annie has found a few loves all on her own. Her love of roller derby, and her love of traps, for example.

Well, once again she’s feeling that sting, as she’s going to be the sibling cleaning up after Verity’s…well her mistake. Verity declared war on the Covenant of St. George, and only Annie has the looks to pass off an undercover operation.

So instead of continuing to find her own path in life, instead Annie is going to get sent to the most dangerous place on the planet for a Price to be. Right at home with all of the xenophobic zealots that want to eliminate her family and everything that isn’t considered to be human. Just great.

“I WAS DONE. No. That wasn’t quite right. I was a hundred miles past done, cresting into the Fjords of Nope, heading for Fuck-That-Ville.”

Magic for Nothing is the first novel from Annie’s perspective, and there’s a bit of a shock that comes with that. And a lot of excitement too – she’s just as talented as her siblings, when it comes to getting into insane situations and somehow surviving them.

Out of all the Price children, Annie seems to be the standout sibling. Her personality is loud, and she’s totally not afraid to speak her mind. Even when that involves talking down about her family. That was a bit of a surprise to read, since we’ve seen so much of Verity and Alex by this point.

Still, I loved the change in both perspective and scenery. Annie’s world brings us closer to the carnival style, as her background leans heavily in that direction. It made for another fun adventure, though this time there’s a lot more at stake.

“The history of the human race has been one long quest to find new, novel things, and then kill, eat, or enslave them. There’s a reason the aliens haven’t made an appearance yet, is what I’m saying.”

So in this book we have Annie and all her sass, check. An infiltration of the Covenant of St. George, check. InCryptids galore, check. A secondary undercover mission, which brings her to a carnival, check. Aeslin mice, check. Oh! And a potential romantic subplot! Apparently that is a surprise for everyone, Annie included. So, in short, this book has everything, and will be perfect for fans of Seanan McGuire, and especially fans of the series.

“When your back’s to the wall, just remember: you’re allowed to take those bastards with you.”

Actually, saying Annie has sass is a bit of an understatement. This girl is perfectly capable of taking on the world, and she’ll tell the world what she thinks of it at the same time. It took a while to get used to that sharper personality, but once I did, I really enjoyed her story. Luckily for me, the next two novels (Tricks for Free and That Ain’t Witchcraft) are also focused on Annie! Time to dive on in.

About Liz (AKA Cat)

I am an avid animal lover, photographer, reader, and much more. While my photography blog is feeling a bit neglected at the moment, the other sites I'm involved in are going strong. ✧I review books, comics, and basically anything else in the literary world over at Quirky Cat's Fat Stacks (of Books). ✧I review comics and books, as well as write content for Word of the Nerd. ✧I review comics for Monkeys Fighting Robots. ✧I write content for Screen Rant and CBR. ✧I write book reviews for The Review Crew.
This entry was posted in Fantasy, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s