Review: The Last Watch by J.S. Dewes

Author: J.S. Dewes
Series: The Divide #1
Publisher: Tor Books
Released: April 20th, 2021
Received: NetGalley

4 kitties

J.S. Dewes’ debut novel, The Last Watch, is ready and primed to blow science fiction fans out o the water (out of the atmosphere?). It’s the first novel in The Divide series, and I’m already looking forward to the sequel.

The Divide sits at the edge of the universe. It is the space between the stars – and nothingness. Here, the Sentinels stand guard: the old, the infirm, the rebellious, and the stubborn remainders of the military.

Adequin Rake has made her life here. She’s the commander of the Argus, and while the post runs on limited supplies, she makes it work. That is, she did. Right up until something changed in the Divide, and that changed the role she had to play.

“There was something off-putting about utilizing technology created by a species that had all but wiped out your own, even if the war had ended centuries ago.”

The Last Watch is marketed as a novel for fans of Game of Thrones and The Expanse. Having read the novel, I don’t think that description does The Last Watch justice. This was simultaneously the most detailed and compelling science fiction novel I’ve read in quite some time.

I think what really got me was how human each character felt. It wasn’t just Rake (though there is that – she was easily my favorite character and perspective). All of the secondary characters felt fleshed out as well, though some more than others. Cavalon’s personality (one part humor, one part sardonic pain in the butt) helped to balance out the otherwise strong military feel that many characters brought with them (looking at you, Rake).

Even the reason for being out in the Divide carried with it a certain sense of weight. As did their lack of supplies. All of that added to the complexity of the situation, naturally. But it also made it all feel so much more realistic.

Sentinel, Sentinel at the black – do not blink or turn your back. You must stand ready to stem the tide, lest Viators come to cross the Divide.”

All of the details in The Last Watch helped to build toward some seriously epic moments. Even that feels like an understatement. If you’re a fan of science fiction where everything is on the line (sometimes literally), then this book is going to thrill you.

Amazingly, the next novel, The Exiled Fleet, has already been written. Better yet, it looks like it’s expected to publish in August. So sit down and get ready because I just know that it is going to be one hell of a ride.

Thanks to Tor Books and #NetGalley for making this book available for review. All opinions expressed are my own.

About Liz (AKA Cat)

I am an avid animal lover, photographer, reader, and much more. While my photography blog is feeling a bit neglected at the moment, the other sites I'm involved in are going strong. ✧I review books, comics, and basically anything else in the literary world over at Quirky Cat's Fat Stacks (of Books). ✧I review comics and books, as well as write content for Word of the Nerd. ✧I review comics for Monkeys Fighting Robots. ✧I write content for Screen Rant and CBR. ✧I write book reviews for The Review Crew.
This entry was posted in Science Fiction, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Review: The Last Watch by J.S. Dewes

  1. Pingback: Weekly Update | Quirky Cat's Fat Stacks

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s