Review: The Witch’s Kind by Louisa Morgan

The Witchs Kind

Publisher: Redhook
Author: Louisa Morgan
Released: March 19th 2019
Received: NetGalley
Warnings: Child loss
Rating: 4 kitties

I received a copy of The Witch’s Kind through NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review.

The Witch’s Kind is the latest novel by Louisa Morgan. It’s a light paranormal novel, with lots of lush details and a casual buildup. It’s very relaxing of a read, while still having plenty of interesting things going on in the world around the main characters. It’s described as being perfect for fans of Practical Magic, and having read the book, I couldn’t agree more.

Barrie Anne is a capable woman; she survived the war, has been left alone, and will not tolerate the idea of moving away. She’s content with what she has now. That contentment isn’t lost when an unexpected event changes everything for her. If anything, it gave her a new reason to fight.

This novel lightly touches on paranormal beings and events, but it reads very much like a women’s fiction novel. It’s introspective and empowering, and has a lot of heart to it. The paranormal events and creatures are discussed openly though, just with a casual ease of taking it all in stride.

Spoiler Warning

Warnings: This warning is very much also a spoiler, so consider yourself warned. Barrie Anne lost her baby boy shortly after he was born. The trauma carries with her for the whole book, though it is more obvious at some points than others.

The Witch’s Kind was such a relaxing and engrossing read. I know those two sound like they would contradict one another, but they truly don’t. It’s delightfully written, with lots of details and no sense of rushing whatsoever.

I mentioned earlier that this book was described as being perfect for Practical Magic, and it’s true. The tones are remarkably similar, so I believe that if you enjoyed one, you’ll love the other. And that’s coming from an adoring fan of Practical Magic.

The paranormal elements add to the story, rather than detracting. Barrie and her aunt take everything thrown at them in stride, which only further shows what they’re capable of handling. It also proves just how interesting these women really are.

The novel keeps jumping between two points in time. One is the past (but only by a few years), and the other the present. I personally enjoyed the moments in the present more, though I understand that the past was setting up for the current set of events (naturally). I felt that the present flowed much more smoothly, and I was more invested in the events occurring in that timeline.

Barrie was easily my favorite character in the novel, second possibly only to Willow. There was something…more about that dog that I would love to know. I likely never will, and I’m okay with that. But she certainly caught my attention and my curiosity.

I loved how relaxing and quirky this novel was. Its tone was so shockingly soothing – even when something dramatic was occurring on the pages. It was like the book equivalent of a hug. It’s not every day that I come across a book that feels that way, so you can believe that I appreciated it.

I haven’t read any of Louisa Morgan’s other novels, but after this experience I’m going to have to check them out. I hope they’re just as detailed and enjoyable as this novel was.

 

 

Advertisements

About Liz (AKA Cat)

I am an avid animal lover, photographer, graphic designer, and much more. I love to create art, and am willing to try any artistic technique at least once. I am particularly fond of artworks involving a lot of emotion and color. The purpose of my blog is for me to be open and honest with myself and the world about my attempts to grow as an artist. My other major passion is reading. My TBR pile is larger than I'll ever be able to read, and yet I can't resist adding to it on a nearly daily basis. I love to read science fiction & fantasy, graphic novels, and pretty much anything I can get my hands on. I have a couple of blogs, as you can see. One is primarily my photography, while the other are my book reviews. If you have any questions, feel free to reach out!
This entry was posted in Fantasy, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s