Review: The Ruin (Cormac Reilly #1) by Dervia McTiernan

The Ruin

Publisher: Penguin
Author: Devia McTiernan
Release: July 3rd 2018
Received: Goodreads Giveaways
Warnings: Suicide, rape
Rating: 3.5 Stars

The Ruin is the first in a new series, Cormac Reilly, by Dervia McTiernan. It was described as being perfect for fans of Tana French, and after having read this novel I can honestly say that this is an accurate statement. There were actually a couple of times where I stopped and double checked the author’s name, for I sincerely thought I was read a Tana French novel (specifically Into the Woods – the tone was very similar between the two novels).

I just want to say real quickly that I absolutely adore the cover to this novel. It’s beautiful and eerie at the same time, which is likely exactly what they were going for. I don’t know why, but I love thriller novel that use natural elements on their covers.

Spoiler Warning

Warnings first: There’s talk of both suicide and rape during this novel. Being that one of the main characters is an Irish police officer, this probably shouldn’t come as a surprise. But still, consider yourself warned. Both are talked about as either after the fact or as theoretical, depending on the situation. Neither provides a terrible amount of detail, which in this case is a good thing.

When I started reading the Ruin I found myself immediately immersed in the new world on the pages. I know that sounds like an exaggeration, but it’s the truth. I actually ended up reading this novel entirely in one sitting, simply because I couldn’t bear to put it down.

I really loved that there are two cases, twenty years apart, tied together to make the foundation of this story. It adds depth and intrigue all at the same time. The complexity of both situations was fascinating, and in the end it turned out to be a rather difficult web to untangle.

I will say that thinking back on the matter; it is possible to spot many breadcrumbs to help lead us to the truth. It probably isn’t possibly to get the whole story until the end, but the villain is believable in that they’re seen ahead of time, their character is put into question again and again, and so on.

I do have a complaint or two about the novel, which is why I didn’t rate it higher (I wish I could have though). They were minor complaints mostly, and they just ended up stacking up over time. Despite that I honestly do think I’ll continue reading this series as it comes out. Too often I feel like I’m playing the catch-up game in a series I like, so I’m not going to get this one get away from me.

 

Advertisements

About Liz (AKA Cat)

I am an avid animal lover, photographer, graphic designer, and much more. I love to create art, and am willing to try any artistic technique at least once. I am particularly fond of artworks involving a lot of emotion and color. The purpose of my blog is for me to be open and honest with myself and the world about my attempts to grow as an artist. My other major passion is reading. My TBR pile is larger than I'll ever be able to read, and yet I can't resist adding to it on a nearly daily basis. I love to read science fiction & fantasy, graphic novels, and pretty much anything I can get my hands on. I have a couple of blogs, as you can see. One is primarily my photography, while the other are my book reviews. If you have any questions, feel free to reach out!
This entry was posted in Thriller, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s