Tag Archives: Bookish First

Review: Skyhunter by Marie Lu

Once again Marie Lu is creating a new fantasy world worth diving into, Skyhunter. The first title of the series also happens to have the same name, and it comes alongside one of the most striking covers I’ve seen to date. Continue reading

Posted in ARC, Fantasy, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: To Sleep in a Sea of Stars by Christopher Paolini

Can you believe it? Christopher Paolini is back, only this time he isn’t diving back into the world of fantasy! Instead, he’s taking a swing at science fiction. From the moment this book was announced, I knew that it was going to be one epic adventure. Continue reading

Posted in ARC, Science Fiction, Tor, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: The Gillespie County Fair by Marc Hess

The Gillespie County Fair is the latest novel by Marc Hess, and it’s a totally unique read. Set in Texas, and revolving around the oldest fair, this novel is rich with culture and character development. Continue reading

Posted in Fiction, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: The Nemesis Manifesto by Eric Van Lustbader

Picture Black Widow meets Jason Bourne, and you’ll have found The Nemesis Manifesto. Crated by Eric Van Lustbader, this is the start of a whole new series revolving around a highly competent spy and agent. Continue reading

Posted in ARC, Thriller, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: The Sin in the Steel by Ryan Van Loan

The Sin in the Steel is the first novel in The Fall of the Gods series by Ryan Van Loan. It’s a series that mixes many elements together in order to create something fun and exciting. Pirates, magic, dead gods can all be found. Oh and a Sherlockian twist as well. Continue reading

Posted in ARC, Fantasy, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae

The Kinder Poison is the debut novel of Natalie Mae, and it is has been marketed as perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Holly Black. Being a fan of theirs, and having read this book; I can tell you that this is completely fair. Continue reading

Posted in ARC, Fantasy, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: The Only Good Indians by Stephen Graham Jones

The Only Good Indians is the latest horror novel to come out of the mind of Stephen Graham Jones, and it is a truly chilling (and graphic) tale worth reading. If you’re looking for a novel that terrifies as it unfolds, then you’re going to want to check this one out. Continue reading

Posted in ARC, Fantasy, Horror, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Review: The Vanishing Deep by Astrid Scholte

The Vanishing Deep is Astrid Scholte’s second novel, and it is another standalone novel. Though it will surprise fans, for it is quite different from Four Dead Queens. This is a tale of the dead, and how family can get their loved ones back – but only for 24 hours. Continue reading

Posted in ARC, Science Fiction, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: This is How You Lose the Time War by Amal El-Mohtar & Max Gladstone

This is How You Lose the Time War wins my award for best novella for 2019. Seriously, this novella was absolutely amazing. Beautifully written, whimsical, witty, everything. I had high hopes for this one, but they sincerely exceeded them. Continue reading

Posted in ARC, Science Fiction, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment