Tag Archives: Fantasy

Review: The Monstrous Citadel by Mirah Bolender

The Monstrous Citadel is the second novel in the Chronicles of Amicae series by Mirah Bolender. And I honestly can’t think of a series that has captivated me more through its fascinating world and set of characters. Continue reading

Posted in ARC, Fantasy, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: Dusk or Dawn or Dawn or Day by Seanan McGuire

Dusk or Dawn or Dawn or Day is a novella by Seanan McGuire, and if you’ve read any of her previous works, you’ll have a decent idea of what you’re in for. A lot of themes that have fascinated Seanan McGuire for years make an appearance here; ghosts, debts, love and loss. So much is woven into this single tale. Continue reading

Posted in Fantasy, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: Sisters of Shadow and Light by Sara B. Larson

Sisters of Shadow and Light is the first novel in an all-new series by Sara B. Larson. It’s the tale of two sisters, and their very strange and unexpected lives. They’ve been abandoned, and worse, trapped within a citadel. That is, until everything takes a sudden change fifteen years in. Continue reading

Posted in ARC, Fantasy, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: Night and Silence (October Daye #12) by Seanan McGuire

Night and Silence is the twelveth novel in the October Daye series by Seanan McGuire. And our girl is still getting herself into a whole new world of trouble. It’s both impressive and terrifying. But at least it makes for a good story for us all to read. Continue reading

Posted in Fantasy, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: A River of Royal Blood by Amanda Joy

A River of Royal Blood is the astounding debut novel of Amanda Joy. This is a novel perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone and is as chilling as it is entertaining. Set in magical world, the country is ruled by a magickal queen. Continue reading

Posted in ARC, Fantasy, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: The House of Night and Chain by David Annandale

The House of Night and Chain by David Annandale is the latest in the Warhammer Horror series, and it seriously nails that core concept. This is a tale that will give you chills and thrills. Perfect for this time of the year, no? Continue reading

Posted in ARC, Fantasy, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: Laughter at the Academy by Seanan McGuire

Laughter at the Academy is Seanan McGuire’s first true collection of short stories, by her own words. If you’ve read any of Seanan McGuire’s works, then you probably already have a good idea of what will be in store for you here. So I don’t need to explain all of the reasons you should be reading this. If you haven’t read Seanan McGuire, this is an excellent sampling of her works, and thus worth checking out. Continue reading

Posted in ARC, Fantasy, Science Fiction, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: The Brightest Fell (October Daye #11) by Seanan McGuire

The Brightest Fell is the eleventh novel in the October Daye series, and at this point, we’re all amazed that Toby hasn’t found a way to kill herself yet. Not that we’re complaining! It’s just that Toby seems to have a particular talent for getting herself into some of the most intense messes possible. Continue reading

Posted in Fantasy, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: These Wicked Waters by Emily Layne

These Wicked Waters is the debut novel of Emily Layne, and it takes a unique look at the classic tale of mermaids and sirens. Viaii Nisi, is an isolated island surrounded by mermaids – and a curse. It turns out that when you anger the beauties of the sea, they’ll never forgive. Continue reading

Posted in ARC, Fantasy, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Blog Tour & Review: Shattered Bonds by Faith Hunter

Shattered Bonds in the thirteenth novel in the Jane Yellowrock series by Faith Hunter, and in case you were curious, yes this series is still going strong. Fans have been especially anxious for this novel, thanks to the conclusion of Dark Queen. And with good reason. Continue reading

Posted in ARC, Blog Tour, Fantasy, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments