Tag Archives: Books

Review: The Mysterious Study of Doctor Sex by Tamsyn Muir

The Mysterious Study of Doctor Sex is a short story by Tamsyn Muir that fits into the world of The Locked Tomb (the series that created Gideon the Ninth). You can read it for free through Tor.com, and if you’re a fan of the series, it is absolutely worth it. Continue reading

Posted in Fantasy, Short stories, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: A Single Light by Tosca Lee

A Single Light is the second novel in Tosca Lee’s The Line Between series. A Single Light is a dystopian thriller, and it’s as chilling and memorable as you might expect. This is where Tosca Lee excels in writing. And here’s hoping we’ll see more of it. Continue reading

Posted in Dystopian, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: Spencer & Locke

Spencer & Locke is a graphic novel miniseries that you don’t want to miss out on. It follows Detective Locke and his ally – an imaginary panther named Spencer. This series takes elements that worked so wonderfully in Calvin & Hobbs, and it twists them into something darker and foreboding. Continue reading

Posted in Graphic Novels, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: Fireborn by Katie MacAlister

Fireborn is the first novel in a new series by Katie MacAlister, called the Born Prophecy. Obviously, with a title such as that, you just know that this is going to be an epic series. It’s a fantasy series, though a lighthearted one that is full to the brim of action, adventure, and some fighting. Continue reading

Posted in Fantasy, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: The Empire of Gold by S.A. Chakraborty

The Empire of Gold is the third and final novel in S.A. Chakraborty’s Daevabad Trilogy. All things considered – I am not emotionally prepared to see this series end. Yet all good things must come to an end, yes? Continue reading

Posted in ARC, Fantasy, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Review: Scarlet Odyssey by C.T. Rwizi

Scarlet Odyssey is simultaneously the debut novel of C.T. Rwizi, and the first novel in a series of the same name. It is a world full of wonders, magic, expansive characters, and the dangers that can come with power. Continue reading

Posted in ARC, Fantasy, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae

The Kinder Poison is the debut novel of Natalie Mae, and it is has been marketed as perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Holly Black. Being a fan of theirs, and having read this book; I can tell you that this is completely fair. Continue reading

Posted in ARC, Fantasy, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: Repo Virtual by Corey J. White

Repo Virtual is the latest novel to come out of the mind of Corey J. White, and it is a piece of speculative fiction involving augmented realities, heists, and sentient software. Continue reading

Posted in ARC, Fiction, Science Fiction, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: I Left The House Today!

Yes! It’s time for another graphic novel by Cassandra Calin, and I could not be more excited! Not only do I love her work (and style), but I feel like I Left The House Today! Couldn’t have come at a better (or more ironic) time. Continue reading

Posted in ARC, Comics, Graphic Novels, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: Ink & Arrows by Shruthi Viswanathan

nk & Arrows is Shruthi Viswanathan’s debut novel. That stunning cover is what originally caught my attention here, but it was the description that made me curious enough to give this one a read. This is a world in which magic and tattoos merge into one. Continue reading

Posted in ARC, Fantasy, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment