Monthly Archives: October 2019

Review: A Thousand Fires by Shannon Price

A Thousand Fires is the debut novel of Shannon Price, and is a novel worth checking out. It’s a modern-day retelling of The Iliad, with a touch of The Outsiders thrown into the mix. Naturally, that has a lot of readers more than a little bit curious about this one. Continue reading

Posted in ARC, Fiction, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: Moth & Whisper Vol. 1

Moth & Whisper is a new cyberpunk/thriller graphic novel, and one with a very appealing name at that. The series follows the child of two famous thieves, one known as Moth, and the other known as Whisper. But what does that make their child? Unfortunately, it seems like they’ll have to figure it out for themselves, because the parents have gone missing. Continue reading

Posted in Graphic Novels, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: A River of Royal Blood by Amanda Joy

A River of Royal Blood is the astounding debut novel of Amanda Joy. This is a novel perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone and is as chilling as it is entertaining. Set in magical world, the country is ruled by a magickal queen. Continue reading

Posted in ARC, Fantasy, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: The House of Night and Chain by David Annandale

The House of Night and Chain by David Annandale is the latest in the Warhammer Horror series, and it seriously nails that core concept. This is a tale that will give you chills and thrills. Perfect for this time of the year, no? Continue reading

Posted in ARC, Fantasy, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: Laughter at the Academy by Seanan McGuire

Laughter at the Academy is Seanan McGuire’s first true collection of short stories, by her own words. If you’ve read any of Seanan McGuire’s works, then you probably already have a good idea of what will be in store for you here. So I don’t need to explain all of the reasons you should be reading this. If you haven’t read Seanan McGuire, this is an excellent sampling of her works, and thus worth checking out. Continue reading

Posted in ARC, Fantasy, Science Fiction, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: The Brightest Fell (October Daye #11) by Seanan McGuire

The Brightest Fell is the eleventh novel in the October Daye series, and at this point, we’re all amazed that Toby hasn’t found a way to kill herself yet. Not that we’re complaining! It’s just that Toby seems to have a particular talent for getting herself into some of the most intense messes possible. Continue reading

Posted in Fantasy, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: These Wicked Waters by Emily Layne

These Wicked Waters is the debut novel of Emily Layne, and it takes a unique look at the classic tale of mermaids and sirens. Viaii Nisi, is an isolated island surrounded by mermaids – and a curse. It turns out that when you anger the beauties of the sea, they’ll never forgive. Continue reading

Posted in ARC, Fantasy, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Review: Spider-Gwen Vol. 5: Gwenom

Spider-Gwen Vol. 5: Gwenom is almost exactly like what you’re probably picturing, thanks to that title. What is surprising is just how much I actually love this pairing. Gwen Stacy and Venom, who’d have thought? Granted, nothing is quite what it seems – or what we’re used to from Earth 616. Continue reading

Posted in Comics, Graphic Novels, Marvel, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Blog Tour & Review: Shattered Bonds by Faith Hunter

Shattered Bonds in the thirteenth novel in the Jane Yellowrock series by Faith Hunter, and in case you were curious, yes this series is still going strong. Fans have been especially anxious for this novel, thanks to the conclusion of Dark Queen. And with good reason. Continue reading

Posted in ARC, Blog Tour, Fantasy, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Review: Girls of Storm and Shadow by Natasha Ngan

Girls of Storm and Shadow is the second novel in the massive hit series, Girls of Paper and Fire by Natasha Ngan. The first novel was an emotional and powerful read and thus was obviously an instant hit. Continue reading

Posted in ARC, Fantasy, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment