Review: Harry Potter: A Journey Through Charms and Defense Against the Dark Arts

Harry Potter: A Journey Through Charms and Defense Against the Dark ArtsPublisher: Pottermore
Authors: Pottermore
Original Concept: J.K. Rowling
Released: June 27th, 2019
Received: Own
Rating: 4 kitties

Harry Potter: A Journey Through Charms and Defense Against the Dark Arts is the first ebook in a series of four coming out this summer, all focusing on the real-life and historical elements behind the world of Harry Potter.

Before I start my review, I want to be a bit clear about this series. I’ve been seeing a lot of people confused online, so I feel this is important to note; these are not Harry Potter ebooks, nor were they actually written by J.K. Rowling. They were written by Pottermore, and inspired by the History of Magic novel that came out.

Each ebook in the series takes one or two school subjects taught at Hogwarts, and then focuses on the past and influences that J.K. Rowling pulled from in order to enrich her world. This series is perfect for anyone that wants a starting point for research. But it may not be in depth enough for those seeking a lot of details about these influences.

Harry Potter: A Journey Through Charms and Defense Against the Dark Arts focuses on, unsurprisingly, Charms and Defense Against the Dark Arts. I was really curious to see what they were going to cover in both sections. I had some assumptions and ideas…but you never really know until you start reading.

The first half of this ebook, the charms portion, looks at things like abracadabra, transformations, and everything in between. I loved the inclusion of graphics to help tell the history, and the quotes from the Harry Potter series to give the context for their inclusion.

The Defense Against the Dark Arts half surprised me slightly, with the choices that were made. I don’t disagree with anything that was included – I think I just expected different material? Though I did enjoy reading about what they covered (snakes, basilisks, magic circles, etc).

On the whole, I really did enjoy this read, but I do think it’s important that people know what they’re getting into here. Also, I’m surprised that they didn’t do more marketing for the series (with ideally a more accurate representation of what was inside). But maybe that’s just me.

There are three more ebooks in the series. Harry Potter: A Journey Through Potions and Herbology released at the same time as this one; Harry Potter: A Journey Through Divination and Astronomy is coming later, and Harry Potter: A Journey Through Care of Magical Creatures is last.


About Liz (AKA Cat)

I am an avid animal lover, photographer, graphic designer, and much more. I love to create art, and am willing to try any artistic technique at least once. I am particularly fond of artworks involving a lot of emotion and color. The purpose of my blog is for me to be open and honest with myself and the world about my attempts to grow as an artist. My other major passion is reading. My TBR pile is larger than I'll ever be able to read, and yet I can't resist adding to it on a nearly daily basis. I love to read science fiction & fantasy, graphic novels, and pretty much anything I can get my hands on. I have a couple of blogs, as you can see. One is primarily my photography, while the other are my book reviews. If you have any questions, feel free to reach out!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s